Jump to content
  • Content Count

    206
  • Joined

  • Last visited

HelenH

Members

Community Reputation

92 Good

About HelenH

  • Rank
    Junior

Profile Information

  • First name
    Helen
  • Last name
    Hughes
  • Country
    United Kingdom

About me

  • About me
    I am passionate about sharing learning to improve patient safety - using insights from clinicians, patients, patient safety and human factors experts, researchers, leaders, everyone to help make the change we need for a patient-safe future
  • Organisation
    Patient Safety Learning
  • Role
    Chief Executive

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Community Post
    Hi @Alison R thank you, that’s really helpful, excellent suggestion. We’d be very happy to share anything that’s developed for wider benefit and learning. I didn’t get to raise on my call this morning so I’m following up with an email. I’ll let you know any suggestions that come back from this. Helen
  2. Community Post
    That’s gruesome, I’m so sorry to hear this. Completely unacceptable and against all the guidance. We must must must make this barbaric process stop. it’s not always easy to follow up and complain. It’s my view that such harm should be reported as a serious safety incident by the staff and then fully investigated. @Claire Cox do you think we could encourage a formal thematic review of these cases?
  3. Community Post
    Hi Kerry, good idea. I’m not sure but I’m speaking to an Assistant Director and PS lead of a MH Trust tomorrow with the PS leads at the Royal College of Psychiatrists. I’ll ask them if they have a template or criteria. And if not, who might they suggest we approach. Thanks, Helen @Steve Turner any suggestions? @Claire Cox Shall we ask the PSMN members on Friday?
  4. Community Post
    Hi Alison, that’s great, looking forward to connecting on that. H helen@patientsafetylearning.com
  5. Community Post
    Thanks Cake, very pleased too that you were offered those options, exactly what we are looking for everyone. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and wishing you well for the procedure. I don’t know if you’d like to give the Trust feedback but Care Opinion are a fabulous service and website if you’d like to do so. Always great to recognise good quality and responsive care. Best wishes Helen
  6. Community Post
    Hi Alison, Great question, we'll help you find out. Suggest that we raise with the Patient Safety Manager Network group and see if they know. @Claire Cox Are you ok to follow up? Also we can promote your question widely through our social media. Are you happy for us to include you in the tweet directly? If so, let me have the details and we'll get on to that. We don't have to, so no worries if you'd prefer anonymity. I'm also working with South London and Maudsley FT and I'll ask their Assistant Director lead, she's a role at the Royal College so might know. Might be good t
  7. Community Post
    Thank you for your comment, it’s very heartening to hear your experience. Clearly it was uncomfortable but you were well looked after and reassured. Best wishes, Helen
  8. Community Post
    A huge thank you for sharing your initially horrendous experience and then of the excellent and compassionate care. I very much support your final point.
  9. Community Post
    Thank you all for sharing your ghastly experiences. You should not have been violated in this way, it’s barbaric and completely unacceptable. We’re supporting and promoting the excellent work that Hysteroscopy Action are taking to drive change. I’ve been talking today about the Women’s health strategy that is being developed and the need to ensure the governments approach includes the experience of women experiencing pain, not receiving information for legal content, being traumatised and left anxious for future care. And the action needed to prevent this avoidable harm. We want to p
  10. Community Post
    Really so kind of you to share your experience and so pleased it was so positive, even if a little uncomfortable at times. Well done to Perth Royal Infirmary
  11. Community Post
    Hi Abigail, Great that you like the hub, thanks for the feedback. And of course, we welcome you sharing with friends and colleagues so more can benefit and contribute. I'd love to hear more about your PhD and it looks invaluable to the work we're doing. I'll email you separately, Helen
  12. Community Post
    So sorry to hear your experience Jane, three times, ghastly. Following the guidance, NHS provision and support is patchy and inconsistent. Something that campaigners have been highlighting for years. The broad response is ‘the guidance is there, NHS providers need to follow it.’ Not much help to women when clearly this doesn’t happen. The government have just published a vision for a Women’s health strategy, a few days ago. We will continue to support campaigners and push for action. A strategy, a policy, a commitment is not enough whilst women are experiencing such avoidable pain.
  13. Community Post
    This is such a ghastly experience for you. I’m so sorry to hear that you weren’t given the information, care and support you needed. It’s a harrowing read and I’m sending you my best wishes and commitment that we’ll do all we can to expose and address this terrible practice. Helen
  14. Community Post
    Key Learning 12: ‘In a service in which clinicians are routinely told if it is not written down it did not happen it is simply not acceptable for management colleagues to regard themselves as exempt from such strictures.’
  15. Community Post
    Key Learning 11: ‘ Had the management focus been upon the question of Why rather than Who, it would have helped to foster a culture where those who have what they believe to be a legitimate patient safety concern feel free to express it through an appropriate channel.’
×