Skip to content

Guidance for managing untraceable people with diabetes on providers’ cohort database

Summary

The database of people with diabetes who are eligible for diabetic eye screening (DES) in England is available on GP registration systems. Local screening services can access it electronically through the GP2DRS IT system, or by requesting a copy from the GP practice.

Eligible individuals remain on the local service register until they are no longer part of the local service cohort – for example if they have moved away from the area or died. These individuals then become ‘off register’ and should be managed in accordance with the consent and cohort management guidance.

People with diabetes may not need to attend routine digital screening while under the care of ophthalmology or being seen in surveillance clinics, but they remain eligible unless they meet the ‘off register’ criteria.

Each year, local screening services will recall many individuals for screening who are no longer registered with a GP in England and are ‘untraceable’. Many of these individuals may no longer live in England.

Providers should use this guidance to manage untraceable individuals. It’s only applicable in cases where an individual is no longer registered with a GP in England.

 

Content

1. Introduction and scope

2. Guidance

3. Software and data implications

Guidance for managing untraceable people with diabetes on providers’ cohort database https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/diabetic-eye-screening-untraceable-patients/guidance-for-…

User Feedback

Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Create an account or sign in to comment

Registered address: Patient Safety Learning, China Works SB203, 100 Black Prince Road Vauxhall, London, SE1 7SJ

Account

Navigation

Search

Search

Configure browser push notifications

Chrome (Android)
  1. Tap the lock icon next to the address bar.
  2. Tap Permissions → Notifications.
  3. Adjust your preference.
Chrome (Desktop)
  1. Click the padlock icon in the address bar.
  2. Select Site settings.
  3. Find Notifications and adjust your preference.